Forum – The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 1

http://www.religionnewsblog.com/18099/homosexuality-billboard

In the city of Indianapolis there is a 30-day billboard campaign put on by the pro-homosexual Metropolitan Community Church in partnership with Faith in America. The billboards, posted all over the city, carry messages such as “Jesus affirmed a gay couple,” and include Bible verses that they claim support their points.

This week, I would like to explore the issue of homosexuality and the Bible. I will be looking at the biblical texts that this group and groups like it use to support their stance that homosexuality and Christianity are not in contradiction. I will also look at text that counter these points.

I seek to undergo this task in a serious but dignified manner. I am not afraid to offend people, because I know that regardless of the issue, Christianity is offensive to many. However, I do not set out to deliberately degrade and humiliate. I only seek to present the truth as the Word of God presents it, and in doing so to bring people to a knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ, the Way, the Truth and the Life (John 14:6). I hope this discussion is insightful and edifying.

Please feel free to comment. I only ask, for those on either side of the issue, that you show as much dignity and respect as you would like to receive from others.

2 Responses to Forum – The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 1

  1. David Norris says:

    Our ministry team is also doing a series on The Indianapolis Jesus Metro Church and their take on homosexuality. As a Christian there is no other side to take than what the word of God has to say on the subject and it has plenty to say which I am sure you will cover as will we.

  2. IngentNague says:

    Moral dilemna!

    What’s up? I’ve hung around watching and reading for ages here.

    Well, tbh I had this experience recently. Here’s what happened After classes I took the bus, I was starving so I dropped into this place for a snack and ordered a sandwitch and took it to a table and sat down after finishing it I realized I had not paid for it!

    Yeah evidently they were super busy and distracted because there was this manager/investor type looking around everywhere and talking to them. So I was just about to go up to the counter and say I hadn’t paid but then I realized if I did that the owner guy might get mad at the employees. So I just left. What should I have done do you think?

Leave a Reply

