Thinking About Thinking: A Testimony About Reason

This week I’ve been thinking a lot about thinking and the place that reason has in the Christian life.

For a lot of Christians, their walk began when they heard the gospel and put their faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. For me however, I believed the gospel long before I put my faith in it.

When I was ten years old I heard the gospel for the first time. I prayed a prayer but there was no conversion at my life stayed the same. I lived life foolishly as a teenager and my life was full of the garbage and baggage of sin. When I was about sixteen I picked up a copy of More Than a Carpenter by Josh McDowell. I had always believed in God, but it intrigued me that Christianity had reason behind it. I put my trust in this reason that Christianity was true, and that I was okay for believing this. However there was still no conversion in my life and things got worse.

When I was nineteen years old I hit bottom. Drinking too much and not eating enough, I became an alcoholic and an anorexic. But no one really knew these things about me, and most still don’t. For most it was just normal for me to want to be beautiful and “have a good time.” The ironic thing is that I had already completed two years of Bible college in the process of all this.

It was September 10, 2004 when reason met experience in my life. I believed with all my heart that Christianity was true but never put my life in the hands of the Lord Jesus Christ. The song playing was I Surrender All, and I did at last.

You see, it’s not enough to have intellectual assent of the gospel. It’s not enough to believe that God is real and the Bible is true. These are all good things. But there comes a point where you need to make a choice. Are you going to put into practice the thing you claim to believe in, and put your faith in it? Will you be changed by the knowledge you have been revealed?

Without conversion there is no salvation. The gap between reason and faith must be bridged.

Leave a Reply

