Is Jesus God? – Part 5 – The End

Finally we reach the eternal perspective of the deity of Christ.

Firstly, Jesus would not be the Christ if he were not God. Isaiah 9:6 says that the Messiah would be called “Almighty God,” being God himself in the flesh. The Christ would not be able to save anyone if he were part of the same sinful human nature as the people he was trying to save. He must be outside of that nature. So although Jesus Christ was human, he was not merely human, but also divine, the second person of the Trinity. Because Jesus Christ is God, he can save us from our sinful nature and give us salvation and eternal life. The work of Christ is itself eternally significant, for our eternal destination depends on him.

Secondly, all history begins and ends with the Lord. At the end of this world every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord (Philippians 2:9-11). Throughout the description of the endtimes found in the book of Revelation we read time and time again of the worship of the Lord Jesus Christ and his glory being proclaimed. What a wonderful day that day will be when he returns.

“He said to me: ‘It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To him who is thirsty I will give to drink without cost from the spring of the water of life. He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my son.'” (Revelation 21:6-7).

“‘Behold, I am coming soon! My reward is with me, and I will give to everyone according to what he has done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.’ He who testifies to these things says, ‘Yes, I am coming soon.’ Amen. Come, Lord Jesus” (Revelation 22:12-13, 20).

Part 1: “My Lord and My God!”
Part 2: Jesus’ Claims
Part 3: The Beliefs of the Disciples and the New Testament Witness
Part 4: Jesus Christ and the Attributes of God
Part 5: The End

Leave a Reply

