The New Man – Part 5 – Sacrifice and Conclusion

In closing, I would like to focus on the sacrifice we make of our lives to Christ. We must die to our old self in order to be made new in Christ Jesus. It costs us something – truly in costs us everything we used to be.

The Lord said, “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it” (Matthew 10:37-39). In another place he said, “If you love me, you will obey what I command” (John 14:15).

D.L. Moody put it this way: “If He laid down His life for us, is it not the least we can do to lay down ours for Him? If He bore the cross and died on it for me, ought I not to be willing to take it up for Him?”

To be made new, we must surrender completely. I am included in this – I must have surrendered completely in order to have any hope of being made new in Christ Jesus. Living a surrendered life is not easy, but the Lord still promises that his yoke is easy and his burden light. The Christian is truly free, though the world may see chains of another sort – chains of persecution or hardship or pain. But the Christian is free because they are free from sin. The Christian knows that they are citizens, not of this world, but of heaven. There is such joy in knowing that this world is not all there is. And in the end, I will see my Lord face to face!

“If the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed” (John 8:36).

Leave a Reply

