Homosexuality Revisted

Several months ago I wrote a series on homosexuality (linked below). Yesterday I received this comment:

I have always in my heart believed that to be homosexual in not a sin because I believe that homosexuality is genetic and can’t bring myself to understand why God would create something just to condemn it to hell. Lately I have been trying to find verses from the bible that don’t necessarily condemn homosexuality and I have found that any verse can be twisted into meaning what you want regardless of the context. As of now though I am still on the line about the whole argument, I don’t think I will ever be able to condemn these people to hell let alone tell them their feelings are wrong but I would love some verses to back me up if anyone happens to stumble across any in the near future!

First I would encourage this reader to go through the posts in the series, in which I address the issue at hand. Other than that, I have the following to say.

As I read this comment I see a lot of emotion – which is understandable because the issue of whether or not homosexuality is a sin is an emotional issue on both sides. I believe this comment epitomizes the world’s view on the issue. Unfortunately this is also becoming the epitome of the church’s view as well. I assume the commenter is a professing Christian, based on her name “mennonite-girl.” Because of this I am going to answer the comment from the Scriptures.

There are several problems with the above view. First, the comment talks a lot about heart feelings. Emotions may be involved, but feelings do not determine what is true. Ravi Zacharias comments tongue-in-cheek, “One culture loves their neighbor and the other eats them, both on the basis of feeling. Do you have a preference?” What we are after here is not what I would like to be, but what actually is true.

The world tries all sorts of tactics to discredit the Bible, or else to legitimize pieces while rejecting others. The latter is a self-contradiction, because if you cannot trust one part of the Bible the whole thing is discredited. You cannot say you accept one part as God’s Word and not another; it’s either all or none. (Elsewhere I have written on why I believe in the authority and authenticity of the Bible. You may be interested in checking that out as well.)

The commenter says she believes homosexuality is caused by genetics. Romans 1 says that homosexuality existing because of man’s sinful rebellion against God. God didn’t create something in order to condemn it. Homosexuality is not of God. The Bible says, “Whoever believes in him [Jesus] is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son. This is the verdict: Light has come into the world, but men loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil” (John 3:18-19). The implication of this passage is for all, that whoever doesn’t believe is already condemned, not only the homosexual but everybody. All are born into the sinful nature, and all need to be born again in order to be saved (John 3:3). So on the topic of condemnation, it is not you who are condemning someone living in sin to hell, but God himself has said it is so.

It is true that any verse of Scripture can be twisted to suite anyone’s purposes, and that also includes “trying to find verses from the Bible that don’t necessarily condemn homosexuality.” You are still going off feeling, trying to find something that says what you want it to say, instead of looking at what God’s Word actually says. In the series I have taken a detailed look at many of the passages dealing with homosexuality and sexual sin and analyzed the different ways they are interpreted.

On the topic of telling someone their feelings are wrong, the Bible says that apart from Christ the emotions are corrupt. If the emotion is corrupt by the sinful nature, those feelings are not from God. “Each one is tempted when by his own evil desire [that’s an emotional desire] he is dragged away and enticed. Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death” (James 1:14-15). The previous verse says, “When tempted, no one should say, ‘God is tempting me.’ For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone” (James 1:13). No one can say the desire for a same-sex relationship comes from God, the same as any other sin.

In closing, I hope you will read the series on homosexuality in its entirety. It deals with a lot of other issues that will come to mind as you read this response. I appreciate this comment and the others we have received on the topic. The bottom line is that we are searching for what is true – at least I hope that is the pursuit of you the reader. I hope this helped.

Forum: The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 1
Forum: The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 2
Forum: The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 3
Forum: The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 4
Forum: The Bible and Homosexuality – Part 5

Leave a Reply

