Is Truth Old-Fashioned?

Call me old-fashioned, but I believe in absolutes. I believe there is such thing as truth. I believe the Bible is God’s infallible Word and serves as our reference point for knowing God’s mind in matters of truth. I believe Jesus Christ is the only way to salvation, just like the Bible says. I also believe these things are not merely matters of faith but of reason. I think they make sense.

These kinds of ideas are seen today as things of a bygone era, things our parents and grandparents believed, but things that have no bearing on our lives today.

Interestingly, I’m not an “old” person – I’m in my early twenties. Nor was I raised in the church – I had heard some things about God as a child but did not become a born-again Christian until I was 19. I do not fit the stereotype of old-fashioned Christianity. My daddy isn’t a preacher. My mom wasn’t a praying woman when I was growing up. They didn’t drag us to church or make us listen to boring sermons. They didn’t push their old-fashioned views on us, indoctrinating us before we knew better. There’s nothing wrong with being raised in the church or with teaching your kids what’s true and right. I encourage these things. I’m just saying that that wasn’t me.

The truth is that truth exists, and it is not old-fashioned to say so.

One Response to Is Truth Old-Fashioned?

  1. Tracie says:

    Truth is good. More of us should post the truth, as you have done.

Leave a Reply

